Blog #4 Digital Fluency and Scratch

This week we studied Digital Fluency.

Digital fluency is described as the ability to use technology to achieve your desired outcome (Howell, 2014).

I always considered myself to be digitally fluent in my work as an IT Professional, but after completing a few of the tasks in this subject, I realise that I am only digitally fluent in certain areas. My area of work consists of troubleshooting computer hardware, software installations and network issues. I am very proficient in these areas as well as with basic Microsoft Office software and some coding. Beyond that I would be as bewildered by the applications we have had to use, as anyone else in this subject.

I am a hands on learner and would rather try to work things out before reading a manual, but other people may learn differently. This is something that teachers will need to take into account when teaching their students new applications.

We were required to make a Scratch animation for this weeks tasks and I found this to be very frustrating. Trying to get the sprites to change direction and move where I wanted  was tricky. Adding sound and flow was also very time consuming.  This is a good application and students would probably have fun with it,  but I think that, as a teacher, I would need to allow quite some time to teaching the students how to work with it. Click on the image below to view my Scratch video.

scratch animation

References

Howell, J. (2014). Teaching with ICT: Digital pedagogies for collaboration and creativity. Melbourne, Australia: Oxford University Press.

Scratch [animation]. Retrieved from: http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/32354296/

Leave a comment